Where I Cut My Internet Teeth

Believe it or not, this is not my first foray into the Internet ecosystem. During my final year at the University of Birmingham, I became heavily involved with the University’s newspaper, Redbrick, specifically its film section. For it I wrote a mixture of reviews, news reports and articles, with three being particularly notable. I thought that in this post I would look over each of them, allowing you a chance to see a little more of my writing, and me a chance to see how I’ve developed in the last twelve months. Very soon, this blog will be given a regular schedule, along with clear ideas, which together will shape it into something more solid. However, before doing that, it makes sense to look backwards.

Lets start with ‘Holding Out For a Heroine’, in which I argue that comic-book movies are in serious need of more female heroes. Written early during my time at Redbrick, it does show that I was still struggling to find the right tone for the paper. A couple of grammatical errors now howl at me (though really editors, how’d you let them slip by?) but I stand by what I wrote. That said, I feel each paragraph could easily be extended to be a piece in its own right. I start by challenging myths about female led action films, then explore how to overcome the hurdle of how many of the better known female heroes are either members of teams or spin-offs from male heroes. After this I touch on misogyny in the worlds of comics an films, before mentioning those going against this. A whirlwind of topics, each deserving more attention, though I do like what I said about each in passing.

 

Now, onto ‘Whitewashed Hollywood’, of which I am proud. Given how sensitive an issue race is, and just how white I am, I put a lot of care into crafting it. I was very nervous on how it would go down, and I’m pleased to say it received some rather wonderful feedback, from both editors and readers. You can tell I was a far more confident writer putting this together when you compare it to ‘Holding Out For a Heroine’. Again, Many paragraphs could easily be expanded into articles in their own right, and I wish I had mentioned the racial diversity of the Fast & the Furious franchise.

 

Finally, we have a piece I wrote rather recently, ‘Crowdfunding: Who’s paying for my films?’ Written with a new editorial team, I’m again rather pleased with this. I feel I was able to give a rather balanced perspective regarding Zach Braff, though my views have changed a little given recent revelations. Rather than expand on that here, I’m polishing up a post entirely on the subject, as there is a lot to say, and as things are constantly changing with crowdfunding, it deserves a lot of thought.

 

So there we are, my time with Redbrick in three posts. It was a fantastic thing to be involved with, and really helped me develop my writing style. Praise goes to Tasha Lavender, my friend and the editor I mainly wrote under, who gave great feedback. She now runs Ladies Through the Lens, a rather excellent blog giving a feminist perspective on film. I would recommend getting involved with student newspapers to anyone interested in writing.

Leave a Reply

